Cakey Strawberry Cobbler (from Southern Living)

Strawberry Cobbler

Here we are another hump day and only 8 more days of instruction to go for us teachers! I’m doing my best to finish well and encourage my kids to do the same. Over the weekend I read my Southern Living…yes I get that magazine. In fact I got it so I can culturally assimilate to my surroundings while at the same time extend my mileage points. Cobblers are a thing in the south, and there’s several different ways to make them. There’s peach, and blueberry and in this case strawberry. It seemed like an easy recipe and it was. I had my doubts but they soon went to the wayside when I pulled out this lovely pan of yumminess. It did not disappoint a single quaranteenager!

You will need: 

  • 2 pints of fresh strawberries
  • Take the tops off and cut in half. 
  • Zest from one lemon, and the juice of one lemon
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar

I did not have fresh lemons but Lucy’s 100% Lemon Juice that I keep in the fridge did a great job. (See below)

Add those things and set aside while you make your cobbler batter.

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking soda
  • 1 cup buttermilk (or if you don’t have that I used 3/4 cup Cabot’s 2% vanilla yogurt mixed with 1/4 cup milk to make the consistency of buttermilk) 
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I like my Bourbon Vanilla from Trader Joe’s!)

Put all these ingredients in your mixer and mix until you get it to a cake batter like mixture. If it’s too thick you can add a little yogurt or milk. 

  • 1/2 cup butter

Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Get your 9×12 baking dish and a 1/2 cup of butter. When the oven is at temperature you will put the butter in the pan and let it melt in the oven. When melted pour the batter into the pan, smooth as evenly as possible. Spoon the strawberries into the pan evenly and here’s where I had my doubts….it was a lot of strawberries! I thought it would be a weird mess but alas it was a success because the batter rose and the butter browned the cobbler. 

Let it cook for a good 40-45 minutes.

It was divine! I served it with more vanilla yogurt. One of the kids took their covid claws to it and ate a large portion which is why I make stuff like this anyway. You could equally do this with any berry or even peaches. Someday this will also be a great potluck dish dessert if we ever return to NORMAL lives.  

While the cobbler was cooking I whipped some a favorite that I am reposting called Mafia Pasta with new more beautiful pictures!!

2 thoughts on “Cakey Strawberry Cobbler (from Southern Living)

Leave a comment