Grandma’s Crazy Salad (Nutty Spinach Salad)

Crazy Salad

Grandma’s Crazy Salad is also called Nutty Spinach Salad. I think I renamed this because when my kids were little they thought it was funny it had crushed Ramen noodles in it. There are days that I crave certain things my Mom used to make. This was one of them. It got in my head and I HAD to have it. As my husband and I sat on the front porch eating it watching the cool breeze come in he turned and said, “I LOVE this salad!” and I replied, “RIGHT?! I know it’s one of those salads that you just keep eating.” Maybe it’s because of the sugar in the dressing…I don’t know….and I don’t care! Grandma’s Crazy Salad is perfect just the way it is.

You’ll need:

  • A package of baby spinach
  • 2 packs of Ramen noodles (crush them into small pieces)
  • 1 package of coleslaw mix
  • 6-8 fresh scallions chopped
  • 8 Tablespoons of slivered almonds TOASTED
  • 2 Tablespoons sesame seeds TOASTED

The dressing:

  • 3/4 cup salad oil (I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1/4th cup sesame oil) 
  • 2tsp Kosher salt
  • 1 Tsp pepper or Mrs. Dash 
  • 4 Tablespoons sugar
  • 8 Tablespoons of RICE vinegar

I find this to be best if I toast the almonds and sesame seeds together in the oven. 

I add them last. Basically you put all the salad stuff in a big bowl and make the dressing.

Toast the nuts until brown and toss it all together!

I served this as our main meal and if the quaranteenagers didn’t eat it they could heat up the smoked chicken that my husband made the day before. I have one teenager that eats raw ramen noodles as a snack. This post is dedicated to him. Now all he needs to do is get his greens in there and he’ll have all the quaranteenager’s food groups he needs to stay healthy: sugar, carbs and “other”. 

 

Leave a comment